Inspired

ImageI’ve had writers block recently. I took notes on the President’s speech, “The Future of our Fight Against Terrorism” but I couldn’t seem to find what to say that seemed satisfying. If someone wants to know Obama’s treacherous civil rights record they can head over to the ACLU or read Glenn Greenwald. I found plenty of doublespeak, but that can be found in political discourse everyday from anyone. I want to contribute something more, but I don’t know what.

Then, when browsing for something intelligent written on anarchy I found Veresapiens and his new blog A Truly Human Society. Brilliant, clear and concise writing, and something more – a call to action. As Buckminster Fuller said, “You never change things by fighting the existing reality. To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete.” And likewise THS proposes that we start a voluntary society now while the state is still in full power.

It is something that I have thought on before but I have never gotten very far. I hate that I cannot protect anyone who may follow my advice. If someone is arrested at gunpoint by the state, for not paying taxes and trying to live independently outside of the state, what can I do to help them? I’ve thought of having a network of strongly independent individuals, whether identifying as anarchists or not, where they can ask the community for assistance or advice. And the only qualifier to join is that you first help someone in need. But, I’m not a social person myself and designing such a network is not a task for me.

However, all of these possibilities and more have been excited in me again from reading THS and I cannot wait to see the directions it takes. If you are interested in Anarchy, Voluntarism, or just alternative models of society and governance then I highly recommend following THS. And maybe together we can begin to build a new, truly free, society.

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

